C.S. Lewis

I love C.S. Lewis. He has been one of my favorite authors since I was a kid. First it was the Narnia series. Then his Space Trilogy (Out of the Silent Planet, Peralandra, That Hideous Strength) . In college it was his books on faith (Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, A Greif Observed, The Great Divorce). His fiction is an all encompassing, fantastical adventure. His books on faith always point out the ways I try to fool myself into thinking I can pull a fast one on God. I always feel convicted to chill on being the pretentious a-hole I can be about things. The thing I might like about him best though, is that he wasn’t a shiny happy Christian. He got into arguments with people, he struggled with cultural identity, he struggled through the death of his wife, he struggled with his faith. I’ve identified with Lewis’ characters and as I got older began identifying with him. I’ve always felt like good ol’ Clive wrote his stuff just for me because his books were interactive experiences. I hope that one day my writing will be able to change people the way Lewis’ writing changed me.

“It was when I was happiest that I longed most…The sweetest thing in all my life has been the longing…to find the place where all the beauty came from.” -Till We Have Faces

Leave a Reply

