2010 aspirations

The end of the year inevitability leads us to ponder what is to come in the next year. I personally don’t like to think of it as New Years resolutions but rather things I’d like to learn/do in the New Year.  Here’s my list for 2010.

  • Learn some basic programming. I spend copious hours on my computer and online and would love to learn how to build my own webpage and/or have the ability to moderate an already established one. I think it would be a good thing to put on my resume but mostly I’d love to snazz up my blog and have a cleaner more personalized presence online. Now friends I would like to enlist your help because I don’t even know where to start. CSS, Java, wth? Anyway a little nudge in the right direction would be much appreciated. Where should I start?
  • Finish a half marathon in less than 2 hours. I hate running but its benefits cannot be denied and the only way I can get myself to put on those running shoes is to do a marathon. I’m signing up for one in April so we’ll see how that goes.
  • Write at least 100 pages of my novel. My computer crashed some months back and with it some 200 pages and 6 years of work on a story. That broke my heart, but I’m dusting myself off and will begin anew.
  • Write more snail mail. I am chained to email nowadays, its convenient and immediate. I miss getting letters in the mail though. I have all of this beautiful stationary that I never use. My goal is to use it this year.
  • 100 books in 2010. I’m starting a list on good reads of books I want to read this year. It’s kind of an ambitious goal, it averages to about 8 and a half books a month. I figure lots of time on the subway and adding some YA books to the mix will make this a challenging yet attainable goal. I’ll detail my progress in this blog.

Those are the biggies for 2010. Play safe out there this New Years eve and I hope 2010 brings with it new daring and bold adventures.

2 thoughts on “2010 aspirations

  1. Hey Karen! Love these lists? Want to be pen pals? I love writing letters. Or postcard pals? that’s more doable for some people!

    I didn’t know you wrote a novel. How exciting. That’s a good goal to achieve!

  2. I didn’t know you wrote a novel! That’s awesome. I want to read it someday!

    Start on HTML and then CSS. That should be enough to do some clean up! You could also try a web editing program like Dreamweaver. Let me know if you need help or learning resources.

    I can’t wait to hear about the books you’ll be reading. I trust your recs over Oprah’s.

Leave a Reply

