What I’ve been up to

Yes I know it’s been a while, but I’m back and ready to catch you up on what’s been going on with me out here.

Most exciting thing to happen since I got back.

I saw Ira Glass! I was walking to the subway after finding out an event he was hosting was full and met him along the way. He was in a hurry but gracious, and yes he sounds exactly like he does on the radio.

I spent a fun Friday evening with my new roommate Tianne exploring the lower eastside. First stop was the KGB Bar.

We came for a poetry reading and were surprised to find the placed packed. The room was overflowing with people sitting on the narrow stairway straining to hear the poems. The little that I heard was good, but we didn’t catch much of it because we decided to leave and head to a little wine bar around the corner. I would like to come back though and check out another reading. This place is known to host some up and coming literati.

I couldn’t find a link to the wine bar, but it was a classy establishment. I enjoyed a lovely glass of white wine.

Next stop was some grub at Katz Deli.

Tianne and I split a pastrami sandwich. It was delicious. The pastrami was much more flavorful than Carnegie Deli’s. Half a sandwich was a perfect portion.

Next up a dark and stormy at Pianos.

This place was great. Two rooms with music, the type varies from week to week. Lots of seating. It can get pretty loud, but it encourages close conversations. A fun place to go with a group of 3 or 4 friends.

After Pianos we got a little lost and found ourselves at a little dessert shop. Can’t remember the name now, but then again there wasn’t anything too remarkable to mention. It was a fun Friday night of exploring.

The other night I went to an Austen Mashups discussion at the Morgan Library.

They have an Austen exhibit on display until mid-March. I haven’t checked it out yet but will soon. The discussion included authors of various Austen mashups. If you’re a fan of Austen, you’re probably aware of the various pastiche stories (P&P from Darcy’s pov is a common incarnation). Recently there is a trend toward inserting monsters into literary works. For example.

and more recently

The author Ben H. Winters was on hand to discuss his inspiration for the Sea Monsters mashup. It was fun listening to the panel discuss Austen because they echoed so many of the reasons I love her writing. The language, cadence, dialogue, and suspense of her writing was highlighted. I can’t wait to check out the full exhibit.

In case you were wondering, I have read P&P&Z. I don’t really have a favorable review of that one. I’m giving S&S&S M a shot just because the author was charming and funny. I’ll let you know how that one is when I’m done.

Those are the highlights so far. It’s hard to believe it’s almost February. I’ll try to update more regularly now that I’ve finished unpacking and gotten over my cold, so till then enjoy the rest of Jan.

Leave a Reply

