INFP

Have you taken the Meyer’s Briggs test (if not take it here)? I took it the other evening with my roommates and we had a lot of fun comparing our results. It may come as no surprise to you that I am an INFP (Introversion, iNtuition, Feeling, Perception) basically I’m a dreamer. There are links all over the internet that profile INFPs my favorite description is this one:

INFPs are introspective, private, creative and highly idealistic individuals that have a constant desire to be on a meaningful path. They are driven by their values and seek peace. Empathetic and compassionate, they want to help others and humanity as a whole. INFPs are imaginitive, artistic and often have a talent for language and writing. They can also be described as easygoing, selfless, guarded, adaptable, patient and loyal.

I think personality tests are fun. I’ve always known I was an introvert. I’ve only recently come to embrace this about myself. I love this article originally posted in The Atlantic called Caring for Your Introvert. Here’s an excerpt:

“Do you know someone who needs hours alone every day? Who loves quiet conversations about feelings or ideas, and can give a dynamite presentation to a big audience, but seems awkward in groups and maladroit at small talk? Who has to be dragged to parties and then needs the rest of the day to recuperate? Who growls or scowls or grunts or winces when accosted with pleasantries by people who are just trying to be nice?

If so, do you tell this person he is “too serious,” or ask if he is okay? Regard him as aloof, arrogant, rude? Redouble your efforts to draw him out?

If you answered yes to these questions, chances are that you have an introvert on your hands—and that you aren’t caring for him properly…”

You can find the full article here: Caring for Your Introvert

I’m lucky or maybe unconsciously strategic because so many of my best friends are extroverts and I can just sit back and be the social loafer I prefer to be.

One thought on “INFP

Leave a Reply

