Jane Austen Challenge

I stumbled upon a Jane Austen reading challenge via Austenprose on Twitter last night and had to join. It’s over at the Life (and Lies) of an Inanimate Flying Object run by Haley. The rules are pretty simple, pick a level (I fall under the “Fanatic” category) and share your list of books. Since I’m already well on my way I thought it would be fun to interact with other bookworm bloggers. So for the fanatic category I must read 6 Jane Austen books and 5 Jane Austen inspired works. Here’s my list:

  • Pride & Prejudice (done)
  • Sense & Sensibility
  • Emma
  • Persuasion
  • Mansfield Park
  • Northanger Abbey
  • Sense & Sensibility & Sea Monsters
  • Dawn of the Dreadfuls
  • Austenland (done)
  • A Truth Universally Acknowledged
  • These Three Remain

Books have to be read by December 31st. Like I need an excuse to read Austen.

3 thoughts on “Jane Austen Challenge

  1. This is a great challenge! I had only planned on reading two Austen-esque novels this winter, but now I have an excuse to read more (although due to other challenges I’m participating in + a Mt-TBR, am only doing this one at the “newbie” level). Such fun!
    ~S.

  2. Yay! I’m reading Sense and Sensibility to Sophia. I know it sounds weird… reading that to a infant, but I needed a way to let her hear more words per day. So far I like it, and she doesn’t seem to mind =) It really makes me wish I didn’t speed read through P&P and then watch the movie back in college. I’m curious about Emma since I haven’t watched the movie yet. I think that’ll be next! Just 2 more books and I guess I’ll be a newbie =)

    • I love that you’re reading S&S to Sophia! Try Alice & Wonderland, Lewis Carroll has a wonderful vocabulary and has such a crazy imagination. Emma is great, for the movie version I prefer the recent PBS special.

Leave a Reply

