February Books

This post is a little late but here’s a recap of the books I read in February. I’ve already reviewed four of the February books in previous posts (see PP:DOTD, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Austenland & Pride & Prejudice).

Sense & Sensibility & Sea Monsters by Jane Austen & Ben H. Winters

For the sake of full disclosure I have a little bit of a crush on the author. I met him at a lecture and he was amiable and charming, so I may be a little biased when I say I really liked the book. The book is set within the Jane Austen’s Sense & Sensibility story only this time with a Sea Monster infestation. One of the bigger players in the book, Colonel Brandon has a face of tentacles (don’t worry he’s not a bad guy). I thought this book was fun and had a more natural monster infiltration. I appreciated that the author really took the time to get the Austen writing voice right.

Recommended for those that enjoy the ridiculous.

Persuasion by Jane Austen

I warned you that February would be full of Austen. I love stories about second chances, especially second chance love stories. The main players in our story are Anne Elliot and Capt. Fredrick Wentworth. Anne falls in love with Wentworth, the family objects because he is poor so Anne rejects him. Wentworth joins the navy and gets his fortune and comes back rich, a Captain and also bitter towards Anne. This book is my third favorite of the Austen novels. It’s heart wrenching to read the interaction between the two when Wentworth comes back.

Recommended for lovers of second chances and Jane Austen.

Across the Nightingale Floor (Tale of the Otori book 1) by Lian Hearn

A wonderful tale of secret legacy and feudal Japan. The story is fast paced and engrossing. A great book to pick up on cold days where you just want to stay inside and cuddle up with something fun. I liked that there wasn’t always a happy ending with the story lines. I think it’s those disappointments that pave the way for sequels. A friend lent me this book as a primer to his ninja ways. This book does a good job of alluding to the mythology of the ninja, though they never expressly call themselves that. Very enjoyable read.

Recommended for boys who like adventure and ninjas.

Grass for His Pillow (Tales of the Otori book 2) by Lian Hearn

I feel like the 2nd book in a series tends to be the weakest. The first book sets up the back story and the second is that middle coming of age story that sets up the big battles in the third. Takeo made choices in this book that surprised me, which I enjoyed. This book isn’t a main course story but merely the appetizer for the big battles to come in the third. Looking forward to it though.

Recommended for anyone who loves adventure stories.

Leave a Reply

