I’m From the Ghetto (apparently)

Image from siliconvalleydebug.com

I listened to the most recent episode of This American Life this morning and found myself getting pretty riled up at the first story about Mt. Pleasant High School. You can listen to the story here or download the podcast on iTunes.

There has always been a stigma associated with East Side schools. We’re all knife wielding gangsters, throwing up gang signs, dealing drugs and having babies way too young. I’m not saying that element doesn’t exist, it absolutely does but I think it discredits the more prominent population of East Side kids that end up doing something productive with their lives. I’m always baffled at the people who are afraid of venturing out to the East Side, who turn their noses up because the girls on the volleyball team don’t have matching shoes. Life isn’t easy for most kids in the east side but that doesn’t mean they don’t come from loving homes, that they don’t want the very best for their lives, that they’re not trying to make the most out of what they have. I hate it when someone tries to tell you how to live your life without knowing a damn thing about you. I loathe the citizen high to citizen low attitude. I sincerely hope that Steve Poizner gets a clue about how insulting and terribly written his description of Mt. Pleasant High School kids was. I also hope that East Side schools are able to get the money to give these kids the education they want and need.

Thanks Ira for defending the East Side (I knew you would)

Leave a Reply

