Summer summer summer time..

Yes that’s right, it’s time to sit back and unwind. The unbearable heat has made me call “retreat!” (temporarily) on my battle plans for fun this summer. The air conditioned buildings offer a welcome respite from the wall of humidity that awaits outdoors. Sitting indoors has allowed me wonderful glorious time getting lost in good books and short stories in the New Yorker. There will be book review updates shortly. For now I’d like to share some of the things I’ve learned about the crazy New York summer.

1. Expect the unexpected:

This has been a typical weather report for the past month or so. Hot as hell with intermittent thunderstorms (WTH?!). This little California girl is used to the gradual relaxed changes in the weather. The weather has been quite temperamental. I’m always sure to pack a small umbrella on any given day.

2. Quality over Quantity:

Summer means free outdoor activities. There are free movie nights on a decommissioned aircraft carrier, in Bryant Park, on rooftops. Free concerts at 7am and 7pm. You can see Al Pacino in a Shakespeare play for free. Not to mention my usual favorite activities of book signings, lectures, comedy shows by various brainiacs & literati. Right now, I could plan something to do every night until the end of August with an alternate B plan. It’s exciting and overwhelming how much the city has to offer. After a mini-break into hermitage for a few days I was once again reminded that I burn out easily and need to take it easy. So now I choose more wisely.

3. Street fairs at your doorstep:

There is a street fair or festival somewhere in Manhattan every Saturday & Sunday. This past weekend there was a street fair right outside my door. Most of these are pretty generic. You can get kabobs, fruit, gyros, crepes, people selling t-shirts, jewelry, the New York Times always trying to get me to buy a subscription. The festivals are a different matter all together. Festivals are usually themed (i.e. bbq, <insert minority group> pride, science). You get better food, performances, lectures, and free stuff at festivals.

That’s all for now, it’s time for me to make myself some cool refreshment. Hope you’re having a nice summer thus far, stay cool.


Leave a Reply

