Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Friday Night…

I had a very interesting evening. It started off very unassuming. I had a date with a boy that I met playing softball. A guy who up to the very point I walked into the restaurant seemed 100% normal. We had gone to a book signing together a week ago and had a wonderful discussion about books. He’s athletic, bookish and not bad on the eyes; ostensibly a real winner until our date yesterday.

We exchanged semi-flirtatious emails and made plans for dinner Friday night.  I walk into the restaurant and find him seated at a table in the corner with an older woman. I walk over a little befuddled but manage to compose myself and say hello. He introduces the woman as his mom. Yes folks he brought his MOM!! At this point I am completely disoriented and actively searching for cameras because I’m surely getting Punk’d. I sat for a moment perusing the menu and making small talk. The crazy thing was they acted like it was completely normal (am I the crazy one here). I excuse myself to “wash my hands” in the bathroom and come up with a game plan.

I have endured my fair share of awkward moments. I’ve sat helplessly enduring boring dates, stood guard as girl friends had cringe worthy conversations with boys, I’ve even sat and played board games with a then maybe boyfriend and his back in town surprise visit ex-fiance. I sat in the bathroom texting friends in a digital cry for help but ultimately decided ENOUGH I will not endure an evening of mortification and confusion. I got back to the table said I wasn’t feeling well and promptly left. Very rude uncharacteristic behavior for me but I pull the alternate universe card because this situation was not normal.

I went to a movie alone (Knight & Day which was pretty entertaining) to indulge in some mindless activity. Grabbed a quick bite, headed home to open a bottle of wine and a new book. If you think that the Friday night mayhem is over you are mistaken.

I wake up to some commotion in the living room sometime after 11ish. I hear muffled cries and my roommate’s boyfriend on the phone with the police. I go into the living room and see both of my roommates huddled together. One of them visibly sobbing and very shaken up. I discern details from the phone call and a whispered exchange between my roommates. My roommate was MUGGED, just around the corner from where we live. A couple of guys ran up behind her, hit her on the head and ran off with her purse. We spent the next hour canceling her cards and she gave a statement to the police. 6 policemen got to our apartment in less than 20 minutes. They canvassed our neighborhood and thought they found the guys. Turns out they didn’t. New York just got very real this evening. My roommate is ok. She is understandably still a little shaken and wary. We are evaluating whether or not to change our locks.

I ended the last few minutes of Friday helping to calm my roommate. It was a horrible Friday evening. Thankfully Saturday started off beautifully. My friend Aaron called at around 1:30 which is weird because he called (which he never does) and it was such an ungodly hour. I called him back and got news that he proposed to his long time girlfriend Lorraine. It was wonderful news and turned my mood around. So today I will think twice before giving my phone number to a random guy, walk a little more cautiously late at night, thank God my roommate is physically ok from the attack, and celebrate the engagement of a wonderful couple. Happy Saturday everyone.

2 thoughts on “Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Friday Night…

  1. OMG…praise GOD that your roommate is okay. I’m so sorry about your bad date night, but I have to admit it makes for a pretty comical story. Hope the rest of your weekend is wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

