2010 My Year of Big Changes

2010 was a very big year for me. It started off ominously with me trekking out to New York from California. No job, no prospects, just an unshakable feeling that I NEEDed to live in New York before it was too late. I boarded that one way flight thinking that if it all came crashing down, I could at least say I tried. Then I got here and I knew, I just KNEW it was where I was meant to be and I had to do anything to stay. It was frankly terrifying. A bad economic climate, a highly competitive city, where I knew very few people, and had virtually zero experience in the industry I want to be in; the odds were stacked against me. I must have sent out over a hundred resumes, “networked” awkwardly with strangers, and generally planned for the worst (working 2 min wage jobs to scrape by until I could find something better). I felt called to this city and I have faith in callings. In April, less than 3 months after moving, I started working at The Economist. A dream company, and confirmation that living in New York is my destiny.

I feel like I packed multiple years into this one. Those first three months felt like eons. Adjusting to the pace of New York, making friends, generally trying to figure out my place here is a constant struggle. I’ve learned a lot about myself this year; I am stronger than originally thought, that I have a network of amazing friends & family who have encouraged and supported me through the hardships and triumphs, that dreams really can come true.

I love New York, my heart bursts with joy just thinking of this incredible city. I count myself incredible lucky that I am here, and can enjoy so much of what it has to offer. I have made some really incredible friends; talented, passionate people, who dream big dreams and aren’t afraid to chase after them. It feels like I’m at the center of the universe sometimes and I just love that.

It can also be terribly lonely. That glossy sheen that seems to cover everything in New York with grandeur, is also sprayed onto people’s personalities. It’s very competitive and punishing here. Meeting new people often feels like an interview; a lot of spouting qualifications and trying to impress so you can be deemed worthy enough of friendship. I’m introverted and suspicious by nature so it’s discouraging to be met with so many that just want to “network” and don’t actually want to be my friend. C’est la vie.

It’s hard to complain. This was a great year for me. I think 2011 is going to be an even greater one. Happy new year my dear friends. I hope it’s filled with hearty wholesome laughter, challenges that test your metal, memories that will turn into stories you tell for many years, surprise, adventure, good books and love. Most of all I hope you go after what you want in 2011. Life is too short.

One thought on “2010 My Year of Big Changes

  1. wow, thanks for putting me up on twitter!! :)!! I miss you dear sister. Really looking forward to spending some good quality time with you and Ira in NY : )

Leave a Reply

