2011 Recap

Photo taken at a really old library in Manchester

Wow, this year really flew by. It has also been quite a long time since I last posted, hope you didn’t miss me too much. On Christmas day I went to lunch with a few friends and we shared our highlights and low-lights of the year. My roommate says I cheated by using the same thing for both, but it’s true. My highlight and low-light of this year was the steady parade of visitors. Starting in April I had someone stay with me every month for an average of one week. Don’t get me wrong, I love when people come to visit. I experience this particular brand of joy when I get a chance to show off this city for people. My visitors are people I love and am close to, so I want to spend as much time with them as possible. The flip side for me is that I’m always exhausted; I’m either currently sleep deprived or catching up on sleep. My store of social reserves also become dangerously depleted.  I gather strength from my alone time and the lack of it reduces me to a puddle of whiny tears.  I thought about all that I said at lunch that day and realized how lucky I am that my biggest complaint of this year was that I didn’t get as much sleep because so many people that I love came out to see me and we got to have fun together in New York.

Other random highlights of the year:

-Family vacation (NY, Maine, & Boston). Eating a ludicrous amount of lobster at the Maine Lobster Festival.

-Riding the subway with Kian & Krista.

-The smug satisfaction in knowing that Jared doesn’t hate New York anymore.

-Fancy dinner with Melanie at Babbo.

-Many fun evenings filled w/ good beer and interesting conversation w/ Megan

-Book Twin adventures

-Visiting Robin in England (esp. Mumford & Sons in Hyde Park)

-Shuler time in So-Cal

-Sneaking onto the Spiderman set w/ Ivan

-Getting into the usual shenanigans w/ the Nikkei bunch

-Fun day in So-Cal w/ Ange, Ric, Meg & Rambo

-Quality time with the siblings (Jr in NY, Julie in Sac)

-Many excellent meals at supper club

-Realizing I still have plenty of love for California on my recent visit in November

-Every single moment I got to spend with my family

I’m thankful for so much and looking forward to what 2012 will bring. I hope it brings both you and me lots of opportunities to see what we’re made of. Happy New Year!

One thought on “2011 Recap

Leave a Reply

